Weekend Writing Warriors for January 17

To comment on the blog, click on title, then go to bottom of the page for comment box. Thanks.

shade

This is where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work for others to see and comment. See the other contributors at http://www.wewriwa.com

This week I am continuing with another snippet from my book Songbird. Harry has been introduced to the beautiful singer, Pascale, by his friend, Jake, but realizes immediately that she is greatly disturbed by something in her past life.  He is sufficiently intoxicated by this mystery woman with the perfect voice to want to find out what is troubling her.  This scene is when Pascale joins Harry and Jake after her performance has finished.

“It’s good to see you smile, Pascale. You looked so serious back there in the dressing room.”

“I’m sorry, I just—”  She stopped mid-sentence, and I tried to read the expression on her face. It was a mixture of nervousness and distress, so I changed the subject quickly and began a conversation with Jake, in order to take the pressure away from her. I wondered what lay behind the emotions of this beautiful young woman; what caused her to be so nervous. She seemed almost afraid.

Jake and I chatted for a few minutes, and I glanced sideways at Pascale from time to time. Her expression gradually became more relaxed, and when I caught her glance, I smiled warmly at her. I was rewarded with a gentle smile in return.

Songbird was published by Blushing Books, and is available on Amazon US here, and Amazon UK here.

Songbird

Harry is a successful 36-year-old Dom who has had many transient relationships with submissive women, and is not looking for a permanent relationship – until he sees and hears a beautiful young woman singing in a club in London. The woman sang with a throaty and angst-filled voice that suggested a dissolute lifestyle, but had the face of an angel and a body made for sin. Harry fell head over heels for Pascale, the beautiful songbird, and was determined that she would be his. Pascale, however, has had a difficult childhood with her mother’s brutal lover, Gaston, and escaped his clutches with the aid of Louis, her old pianist, and when Harry meets her she is traumatized by her experiences. Eventually he begins to break through the barrier that Pascale has erected around herself, but is wary about dominating her, even though she seems to him to have submissive tendencies. He is afraid of digging up disturbing and distressing images from her past.

Details of my other books, plus free short stories, can be found on my other website http://racheldevineuk.wix.com/rachel-de-vine

2 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for January 17

    1. Thank you Elaine. I love the cover too. I found the photograph of the singer and the art department of Blushing Books, my publishers, worked their magic on it. I might continue the story on WWW for a week or two yet, but I don’t want to give everything away or I might not tempt people to buy the book. Thanks so much for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

