Weekend Writing Warriors for January 24

To comment on this blog, click on blog title line and you will find the comment box at the bottom of the page.

shade

Welcome to another Weekend Writing Warriors post, where writers post 8 – 10 lines of their work for others to see and comment.  You can see other writers at www.wewriwa

This week I am continuing with an excerpt from my book, SONGBIRD, but this time we hear from Pascale’s point of view, and we find out that she has a troubled past, having been abused by her late mother’s lover in Paris, and has run from him.

I was both relieved and surprised when Harry left me at my hotel with just the promise of dinner the following night. I had expected him to make a move on me, and hadn’t been looking forward to fighting him off. He seemed a kind man, even though I could see that, like most of the men I have met, his prime intention was to take my clothes off and fuck me. In most cases, I know that the men who come on to me are attracted to the woman they see singing in the club; the one with the sultry voice and the sexy clothes, and they would run a mile if they encountered the scared and damaged person who lurks below the outer shell. I don’t want them to get close to me because I fear they would despise my inner self.

Would I let this handsome English man with the Italian name get that close to me? It had been over a year since I had escaped from Gaston’s clutches, but the fear was still with me. In fact, I am not sure whether it will ever go away. Would he track me down again? A shiver passed through my body as I remembered his cruel and evil personality, and I looked carefully right and left in case a familiar face was watching me entering the hotel.

Songbird was published by Blushing Books, and is available on Amazon US here, and Amazon UK here.

Songbird

Harry is a successful 36-year-old Dom who has had many transient relationships with submissive women, and is not looking for a permanent relationship – until he sees and hears a beautiful young woman singing in a club in London. The woman sang with a throaty and angst-filled voice that suggested a dissolute lifestyle, but had the face of an angel and a body made for sin. Harry fell head over heels for Pascale, the beautiful songbird, and was determined that she would be his. Pascale, however, has had a difficult childhood with her mother’s brutal lover, Gaston, and escaped his clutches with the aid of Louis, her old pianist, and when Harry meets her she is traumatized by her experiences. Eventually he begins to break through the barrier that Pascale has erected around herself, but is wary about dominating her, even though she seems to him to have submissive tendencies. He is afraid of digging up disturbing and distressing images from her past.

Details of my other books, plus free short stories, can be found on my other website http://racheldevineuk.wix.com/rachel-de-vine

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for January 24

  1. I enjoyed her introspective moment. She seems like a fully developed character with interesting depths! Great snippet. Minor thing, putting on my Moderator hat, the link back o us should be http://www.wewriwa.com/ Maybe it’s just my browser but when I clicked on your link I got shunted to an error. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment, Veronica. Re the link, I have had endless problems, which Teresa and Marcia have been trying to sort out. I don’t understand the half of it, so perhaps one of them would explain the problem to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

