Weekend Writing Warriors for January 31

shade

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box.  Thanks.

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment.  Please follow and comment others on the list.

I am still sharing from my novel SONGBIRD, but this week I am telling Jake’s story.  He is Harry’s best friend, and owns the nightclub where Harry first saw Pascale.  His story is told alongside Harry’s in the book, albeit as a secondary character.  He is trapped in an unhappy marriage, and is having an affair with Rosie, the receptionist at his club.  Be aware that this snippet refers to sexual acts and uses sexual swear words.

Not that my private life was any simpler. I knew I was playing with fire, fucking my receptionist at the club, for if Corinne found out about Rosie there would be hell to pay. I had only just managed to save my balls from being cut off when I was last caught in flagrante with Corinne’s masseuse, so I was trying to be very careful when it came to Rosie. It wasn’t as though the girl meant something to me; although she is a pretty young thing, with luscious lips that look damn fine when clamped around my ever-demanding cock. She’s simple and uncomplicated and doesn’t place too many demands on me—unlike my wife, who seems to think that just because she and her father stumped up most of the money for the club, she’s entitled to treat me any way she likes. The sound of her shrill voice when I am ten minutes late for anything causes my cock to shrivel up and die. I guess I loved her once, but there’s only so much emasculation a man can take.

Rosie, on the other hand, is fun and cheerful, even if she is not overly bright in the brains department. The memory of her on her knees between my legs, earlier in the day, giving me head while I was on the phone being nagged by Corinne, made me smile, and my cock twitched at the thought. Perhaps, one day, I would be sufficiently financially independent to be free of Miss High and Mighty Corinne and her overbearing father, Jason; and when that day eventually arrived, I would enjoy telling them both to fuck off forever.

SONGBIRD is published by Blushing Books and is available on Amazon US here and on Amazon UK here

Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before.  But she has scars from her past.  It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

srr2015nominee

I am really pleased to tell you that SONGBIRD been nominated in several sectors for the 2015 Spanking Romance Awards.  If you would like to vote, the link is:

http://spankingromance.com/best-spanking-romance-of-2015/

20 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for January 31

    1. Thanks Christina. Jake is a bit more of a bad boy than Harry, but he probably is redeemable. I like them both for different reasons. And his wife really is difficult to like, so you have some sympathy for his predicament.

      (Funny, I was just about to click on your link when your message came through!)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Charmaine. As I have said above, I liked the fact that this couple were a complete contrast to Harry and Pascale, and several reviewers have commented that they grew to like them as much as H & P.

      Like

    1. Although he is an unsympathetic character to begin with, you slowly grow to like him as he redeems himself. And if you met his wife and heard what she had done, you would feel much less sympathy for her. Probably better to reserve judgement on him. Sometimes we judge too soon, and I do enjoy writing about bad boys. Thanks for commenting Cara.

      Like

    1. Thanks for the comment, Stephanie. You might be surprised how it does turn out. Jake is Mr ‘Jack-the-Lad’. We’ve probably all met them. Loves women, doesn’t take life too seriously and finds it hard to keep his dick in his pants, but deep down he has some redeeming qualities that might surprise. Of the two men, however, Harry is by far my favourite. I don’t think I would be attracted to the Jakes of this world, no matter how fun they are to be with.

      Like

    1. Thanks for the comment, Ed. As the book is written mostly from the male POV, it is interesting to hear what male writers have to say. Without giving too much away, Jake’s wife is a real ball-breaker (if that is the correct terminology these days!) Slowly, Jake comes to the realisation about his behaviour, when he considers his own precious teenage daughter, and what he would do if a man treated his daughter in the way he treats some women. I still much prefer Harry, though. More my type.

      Like

    1. Thanks for the comment. I wanted his character to be a counterpoint to Harry’s. They are good friends, but very different in the way they behave towards women, even though many people would not be sympathetic to his lifestyle choice. He is good to his Mum and Dad, which is always a good sign, I think.

      Like

    1. I will carry on with the story for a while yet, but you might have to read the book to get the whole picture. As my publishers are Blushing Books, you can be sure that a HEA is fairly certain – but for whom? Thank you for the comment, Daryl.

      Like

Leave a Reply

