Weekend Writing Warriors for February 7

shade

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box.  Thanks.

 

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment.  Please follow and comment about others on the list.

 

I am continuing with my book, SONGBIRD, and now I am writing in the POV of Pascale. She has begun dating Harry, and he coaxes her into telling some of her past story, and what it is that makes her so afraid. As a child she was living in Paris with her mother and her mother’s lover, Gaston, who used to beat her mother. (Please stop reading if the following description is likely to trigger painful memories for you.)

 

I stopped for a moment, the memories too painful, and Harry held me and kissed me tenderly on my forehead, the way you would comfort a small child, and I paused for a moment until I felt able to continue.

“He was very angry, and dragged her back upstairs and beat her very hard with a stick for a long time. Eventually, she stopped screaming. I tried to stop him, but he pushed me so hard that I fell to the floor and hit my head. Maman just lay curled up on the floor, but there was blood coming from her nose and ear and she did not move, and I knew straight away that he had killed her. He threw the stick on the floor and left the room, and I went to her. Her face was pale and she was not breathing, but at least she had escaped at last from the misery she had been living. I wanted to die with her. I didn’t want to be left alone with him, and I kept begging her to take me with her, even as I knew she could not respond. I was just fifteen years old, and the only person in my life who had ever loved me was gone forever.”

SONGBIRD is published by Blushing Books and is available on Amazon US here and on Amazon UK here

Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before.  But she has scars from her past.  It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

 

22 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for February 7

  1. So emotional and dark, but I can see how important it would be. Something like that is bound to affect her for the rest of her life. Super job with that!

    And I don’t think anybody needed to fix your link this week 🙂

    ~Marcia

    Like

Leave a Reply

