Weekend Writing Warriors for February 14

shade

 

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box. Thanks.

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment. Please follow and comment about others on the list.

I am continuing to post an excerpt from my Book Songbird, and I am returning to the secondary male character, Jake, who is a less likeable character than Harry.  He is trapped in an unhappy marriage to a woman who owns and controls his nightclub, and is having an affair with Rosie, a girl who works at the club.  He is now starting to think of the consequences of his behaviour, and above all, of his precious daughter, April, whom he risks losing.

After my near escape from the wrath of Corinne over Rosie, I decided I needed to exercise much more caution. It wasn’t that I cared about Corinne’s blood pressure (although my doctor would probably say that I should care a little more about mine), but if she caught me with Rosie, especially in her home, then the whole edifice might come tumbling down, and there would be casualties. As well as her and her father calling in the loans for the club, Corinne might try and prevent me from seeing so much of April. And last, but not least—for I was becoming fond of my little sex kitten—there were her feelings to take into account, too.

I know that a lot of people who know me would say that I was just a dirty old tom-cat, but I am not heartless, and if Corinne made it a condition of continuing to support me financially that Rosie had to disappear, I would genuinely have felt a great sadness. She was such a cheerful and sexy little imp, who kept me sane, and asked for very little in return. If it wasn’t for the fact that my wife—and, more especially, her father—could bankrupt me and probably make me homeless, too, I would have had no hesitation in telling them to take their fucking money and shove it somewhere painful. But the thought of them poisoning the light of my life, my daughter’s mind against me was just too much to bear. I would have to choose April over Rosie, and I vowed, yet again, to try and keep my dick under control in the future.

 

SONGBIRD is published by Blushing Books and is available on Amazon US here and on Amazon UK here

Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before. But she has scars from her past. It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

19 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for February 14

    1. Thank you very much for your comment. Yes, his love for his daughter is probably his one redeeming feature at the moment. However, he is not completely a lost soul. There are events further in the book that make him question his behaviour. I always like to redeem my characters’ failings, even if only partially.

      Like

  1. Aw, he genuinely loves his daughter. It’s easy to see why he’s landed in the mess he’s in. You describe him and his situation clearly and it’s easy to sympathize with him. I’m sure readers will be rooting for him!

    Like

    1. Thanks for commenting. He’s not the most sympathetic character. Basically he is weak and a little selfish – much like many of us. However, he does have redeemable features which are revealed later in the book.

      Like

    1. Yes he is rather. Like most daughters, however, she sees a different side to him than other people do, and forgives him his weaknesses. I love writing about characters with failings, as well as the Prince Charmings of the world. Few of us are completely good or completely bad. You have seen his bad side, but in time you will come to see that he has some admirable qualities too, if you were to read the book. Thank you for commenting, Cara.

      Like

    1. Thank you very much for your comment. I find that I am defending him, even though he is just a character in a book, because I have seen the whole man, and he is not all bad. It’s funny how you start relating to the characters you create.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for reading and commenting, Ed. I did look for your snippet and assumed that there was a reason for your absence. I do like writing about less than perfect characters, as they provide more interest than the holier-than-thou people I sometimes come across in books. I am sure that we have all come across people such as Jake in our own lives. He is basically weak, and trapped in a domestic situation because of his father-in-law financing his club. I do, however, like to reform my ‘bad boys’ where possible, and Jake is not beyond redemption. I look forward to reading your contribution next week.

      Like

Leave a Reply

