Weekend Writing Warriors for February 21

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box. Thanks.

shade.png 

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment. Please follow and comment about others on the list.

I am again taking a snippet from my book SONGBIRD. This piece is from the point of view of Louis, an elderly black pianist who came from Paris with Pascale, and loves her like a daughter. He had been her mother’s pianist and friend, and has always been full of guilt and remorse that he wasn’t able to protect Pascale’s mother, Lauren, from her abusive lover, Gaston. He has seen the burgeoning romance between Pascale and Harry and is pleased that she is happy.

 

This guy, Harry, seems a decent man, and it looks as though she has another protector now—as well as me. I am not a young man anymore, and what with my dickey heart, I have worried about what would happen to her if something should happen to me.

I hate Gaston with a passion after what he did to Pascale and her mother, Lauren. If I had been there on the day he beat Lauren to death, there would have been two dead bodies in that room, for I would have killed the man without a second thought.

I knew Lauren when she was not much older than Pascale is now. She was sweet and gentle and beautiful, and that bastard Gaston beat her so much that she became a shadow of her former self. But she always tried to protect Pascale from him. She was a good mother to her little girl.

I suppose I was in love with Lauren, even though I knew it wasn’t reciprocated, and I felt guilt that I hadn’t been there when she needed me. That was why I was determined to get Pascale away from him—and why, if he tries to hurt her again, I will kill him.

SONGBIRD is published by Blushing Books and is available on Amazon US here and on Amazon UK here
Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before. But she has scars from her past. It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

13 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for February 21

    1. Louis’ part in the book is only a small one, but it was thanks to him that Pascale was able to escape from Gaston, and he was able to be the friend she needed. Now, thankfully, she has met a good man in Harry and he is able to relax and enjoy his own life. Unfortunately, just before this piece, some suspicious characters come to the club, which is the reason for his anger. Has Pascale’s past caught up with her? Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for commenting, Naomi. The book is a long way from being a ‘misery story’, yet events of the past continue to impact on the present. I do like happy endings though, so I don’t think you would be unhappy with how the story ends.

      Like

    1. Thanks Veronica. It is difficult to convey the story flow in such brief excerpts. However I am trying to give a taste of each of the characters in the book, and the parts they all play in the story. I am conscious that most of you do not write erotica, so I am being careful in my choice of excerpts, so as to not offend anyone, whilst at the same time I am trying to be true to my story.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much, Charmaine. It means a lot coming from such an experienced writer as you. It’s certainly been the most popular of my books to date (4.9 stars out of 5.0 on Amazon US) and I enjoyed writing it. We could all do with a Louis to watch out for us.

      Like

Leave a Reply

