Weekend Writing Warriors for 28 February

shade

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box. Thanks.

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment. Please follow and comment about others on the list.

 

I am again taking a snippet from my book SONGBIRD. This piece is from the point of view of Jake, who owns the nightclub where Pascale sings. He knows that she has a troubled past, but does not know the details, except that Harry has asked him to keep a lookout for any suspicious characters who might bring trouble for her.

 

I wondered if Harry would be coming in tonight. He spent a lot of time at the club these days—on the evenings that Pascale worked, which was Wednesday through Sunday—and he seemed transformed from the Harry I have known for a long time. As far as I could tell, he had become a one-woman man. Mind you, if he had to pick just one woman, I guess he couldn’t have chosen better than the beautiful songbird now gracing my stage.

I was about to return to my office to do some paperwork when my eye was caught by a group of three men who had just entered. One of them, who seemed to be in charge, was leading the way. He was big and burly, but quite smartly dressed, and I was struck by the hard expression on his face. Following behind were two equally big men, who had the appearance of bodyguards, and both were dressed entirely in black. They had surly expressions, too, and it did not look as though any of the three were here to enjoy themselves.

My inner radar, which is rarely wrong, told me that these three were here to cause trouble, and not to enjoy the sophisticated and elegant ambience I liked to provide for my guests.

 

Is Pascale’s past about to catch up with her?

SONGBIRD is published by Blushing Books and is available on Amazon US here and on Amazon UK here
Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before. But she has scars from her past. It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

18 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for 28 February

Leave a Reply

