Weekend Writing Warriors for 27 March

shade

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box. To look back at previous posts, click on my name at the top, and scroll down.  Thanks.

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment. Please follow and comment about others on the list.  Oh, and have an enjoyable holiday weekend, for those who celebrate Easter.

I am still taking excerpts from my book Songbird.  Harry’s friend, Jake, the owner of the nightclub where Pascale sings, is trapped in an unhappy marriage and is having an affair with Rosie, one of his employees.  His daughter, April, is the light of his life and is the main reason why he has stayed with his wife, for fear of losing custody.  April, seventeen, is being pursued by a predatory older man, and Jake is concerned for her.  One day at the club, Rosie rings to say that April has arrived at the club in tears.  The following is from Jake’s point of view, as Rosie rings to tell him that April is on her way to his office.

I dropped the phone and went to open the door just as April arrived and flung herself into my arms, sobbing her heart out.

“April, darling, what’s happened?”

“It’s Tarquin, Daddy…”

The mention of his name brought on a fresh burst of sobbing, and I put my arm around her shoulders and led her to a comfy chair, perching myself on the side.

“What has he done? If he has hurt you—”

She must have been alarmed by the tone of my voice. “No, Daddy, he hasn’t hurt me physically, but I-I c-caught him with M-Mummy.”

“What do you mean, darling? Caught him doing what?”

“I caught him in bed with Mummy,” she whimpered.

Will this be the event that finally forces Jake to leave his wife, and to hell with the consequences?  You may have to buy the book to find out.

SONGBIRD is published by Blushing Books and is available on Amazon US here and on Amazon UK here

Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before. But she has scars from her past. It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

Songbird has gained some excellent reviews on Amazon, with 22 reviews averaging 4.9 stars out of 5.

“Songbird is a richly woven thriller, filled with twists and interesting characters.”

“This story kept me captivated and on the edge of my seat as the life of Pascale unfolds.”

“Riveting and entirely enjoyable, Song Bird was a book I had trouble putting down.”

Why not take a look for yourself?

If you are anything like me, this blog can be confusing. If you want to read and comment on an individual blog, you need to click on the title of the particular blog. If you wish to scan down through previous blogs, you should click on my name (below the picture) and you will then get a rolling sequence of blogs. Of course, you are probably much brighter than me, and have worked this out for yourself. If so, please scroll back and read some of my previous posts. Comments are always welcome, whether favourable or not.

21 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for 27 March

    1. Thanks for the comment, Kim. I’m not sure who I disliked more, April’s mother or her boyfriend, but they probably deserve each other. It’s a wonder that April grew up as well as she did, given the family she was born into.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I feel very sorry for April – the end of what she hoped was her own romance, and the realisation that it almost certainly means the end of her parents’ marriage. You bring across her emotional turmoil very effectively.

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting, Peter. Children can be so damaged by their parents, whether intentionally or unintentionally, can’t they? I fear that her parents’ marriage had been over for some time, but yes, this may well be the final straw.

      Like

  2. Well, that little excerpt certainly made me interested in the book. A father’s nightmare ha! The daughter’s boyfriend sleeping with both the daughter and the wife. Nice. Wonder how it turns out?

    Like

    1. I think it gives Jake the push he needed to escape from an unhappy marriage, and seek happiness with Rosie, his girlfriend. Why not take a look at the book and see if you might like it? Thanks for commenting.

      Like

    1. Thank you so much, Teresa. I am so pleased that you have bought the book, and I hope you enjoy it. If I could just add a plea, would be grateful if you would review it when you have finished. Thanks. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

