Weekend Writing Warriors for April 3

shade

If you are unable to find the comment box at the bottom of this blog, click on the title line of the blog (above) and then scroll down. You should then find a comment box. To look back at previous posts, click on my name at the top, and scroll down. Thanks.

This is my snippet for Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment. Please follow and comment about others on the list.

The snippet is once more from my book, Songbird.  Last week Jake’s daughter, April, comes to see him in floods of tears, and tells him that she has caught her boyfriend in bed with her mother.  The following is in the POV of Jake, in a telephone conversation with his friend, Harry.  (And I apologise if anyone is offended by the bad language.)

“Well buddy, it looks as though the crisis you were expecting has come a little earlier than you thought.”

“It’s been one giant fuck-up. That prick, Tarquin, dumped April because she wouldn’t have sex with him, and the following day she catches him in bed at home with her mother. How about that for a sleazy story?”

I heard a slight gasp from Harry. Clearly he was shocked as I had been.

“Not only that, when I went to confront her, Corinne told me I had no right to moralise. She’s been having me followed, and knows about Rosie and me. She says she wants a divorce, and that she and Jason would be consulting their lawyers to force me from the club. So it’s been quite a night.”

So it seems that the chickens are coming home to roost for both Jake and Corinne.  Next week we can hear how Harry and Pascale are faring.  Songbird is available for sale on Amazon US here, and Amazon UK here.

Songbird

SONGBIRD is the story of a French singer, whose mesmerising voice and looks attracts Harry like no other woman has before. But she has scars from her past. It is also the story of Harry’s best friend, Jake, who owns the night club where Harry and Pascale first meet.

Songbird has gained some excellent reviews on Amazon, with 22 reviews averaging 4.9 stars out of 5.

“Songbird is a richly woven thriller, filled with twists and interesting characters.”

“This story kept me captivated and on the edge of my seat as the life of Pascale unfolds.”

“Riveting and entirely enjoyable, Song Bird was a book I had trouble putting down.”

Why not take a look for yourself?

If you are anything like me, this blog can be confusing. If you want to read and comment on an individual blog, you need to click on the title of the particular blog. If you wish to scan down through previous blogs, you should click on my name (below the picture) and you will then get a rolling sequence of blogs. Of course, you are probably much brighter than me, and have worked this out for yourself. If so, please scroll back and read some of my previous posts. Comments are always welcome, whether favourable or not.

19 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for April 3

  1. Poor April, stuck in the middle as everything falls apart. Not a trace of remorse from Corinne for what April’s suffering – at least Jake seems to care about his daughter.

    Like

    1. Yes, in the end Jake comes across as a much more likeable character because of his love for his daughter, and (Spoiler alert) his belated concern and affection for Rosie. Corinne is just a spoilt and selfish b***h, and probably irredeemable. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

    1. Thanks Veronica. Quite a lot of my books involve complicated people in complicated situations, because I like the task of writing about them. It makes the story more interesting in my opinion. As I have said above, the complications of Jake and Rosie’s life make a counterpoint against the ‘sweetness’ of Pascale and Harry’s relationship. Sometimes I redeem my imperfect characters, and sometimes I just let them stew in their own mess.

      Like

    1. It is a bit of a mystery how she turns out to be such a nice kid. But of course, as in life, no one is one hundred bad or good. Jake is a player, true, but his excuse is that his wife is a bi**h. But in the book he is, or tries to be, a good father to April, and there is strong affection between them. It is difficult to convey this in a short snippet. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

