Weekend Writing Warriors for August 21

shade

Here is my contribution for this week’s Weekend Writing Warriors (www.wewriwa.com) where writers share 8 – 10 lines of their work, for others to see and comment. Please follow and comment about others on the list.

My next release, due out on September 9, is in fact a rewrite of a novella of 17,000 words I published over two years ago. At the suggestion of my publishers I have re-wrtten it and extended it to 43,000 words. It was called Snatched (although it might be re-named) and is based in an impoverished Eastern European country around 1800. It is a little darker than my previous book, and contains scenes that some people might not feel comfortable with. I won’t be offended if people drop out along the way.

Laryssa thought it the worst day of her life when bandits snatched her beloved daughter Sofiya and carried her away. Vowing to save her daughter, come what may, she set off on a long and difficult journey to find her. This snippet is from the so far unedited book.

The icy wind penetrated the woman’s flimsy cloak and deep into her aching bones. It was almost dark and the dense forest on either side of the track was gloomy and menacing. The trees made a creaking, moaning noise as the wind howled through them, and there came a sound of a distant wolf, but she tried not to be afraid. She had been walking for nearly three days and her body was so weary that she was scared that it would let her down and that she would collapse here in this lonely and desolate place. Sheer willpower and thoughts of her precious Sofiya were the only things forcing her to keep placing one foot after another.

Sofiya was her joy and her reason for living. She was her vibrant and beautiful eighteen-year-old daughter and since her husband’s death, with Sofiya no more than an infant, there had been just the two of them, together against the harsh and unforgiving world. She would walk to the ends of the earth for her child and right now she felt as though she was walking to the ends of the earth, but she had no choice since the night that the men came and took her child.

She had only been away from the house for a few hours taking care of a sick old man at the other side of the village, but it was long enough for them to gallop to her home and snatch her precious daughter. A neighbour came running to tell her that Sofiya had been taken, that four men on horseback and with daggers tucked into their waistbands had entered her house and dragged her daughter screaming to one of the horses.

This may be the new cover for the re-launch of Snatched.  The new version will be published under the name Juliette Banks.

 snatchedNEW-1

 

 

24 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors for August 21

    1. This was the first erotic book that I wrote, about two or three years ago, and I was a bit worried that it wasn’t the kind of book that would sell. But I got some good feedback, with the only criticism being that it was too short. So Blushing Books asked me if I would try to write a longer version. I have a low boredom threshold, and hence I change the period, the characters, the story theme etc. with each book. Some do better than others, so I am slowly finding out what the market likes.

      Like

      1. Thanks Charmaine. I am going a bit daft today. I posted a reply to Cara’s comment, and for some reason it became attached to yours, TWICE! So please ignore my other comments, as they were meant for Cara.

        Like

    1. Yes. I originally was going to have Laryssa herself be kidnapped by the bandits, but I thought it would add extra interest and pathos by having her daughter kidnapped. I’m not a mother, but if I was I could imagine walking to the ends of the earth in search of a child. I’m very much a “pantser” writer, and that initial plot was my only pre-decided part of the book. Everything else comes as I write.

      Like

  1. Love the cover! A totally engrossing snippet today and I think she’s very believable as a mother (although what she thinks she could have done against four armed and determined men, had she been home, is a bit baffling to me but the way a mother would feel).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judging by the comments–and by my own reaction to the snippet, you’ve tapped into a deep emotional well for readers. I too would go to the ends of the Earth to find and to free my daughter. (Or my sons) 🙂

    I like it, Rachel. I doubt I will be dropping out along the way.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

