AND SO THE WORLD TURNS…

By Rachel de Vine

Apology:

Firstly, I owe the readers of this website (If there are any left out there!) a huge apology for my neglect. I see that my last post was in 2020 and so much has happened since then. To be honest, I even forgot I had this site, and was only reminded a short while ago, when something nudged my memory. After my father died in 2019, my health took a nosedive, after the pandemic began, (thankfully, I did not get Covid) but because of my health issues, my brother insisted I leave the large, cold, draughty Victorian family home I had lived in from nine years old, and where I had farmed with my Dad, and I moved south to be closer to my siblings and their families. It took us a year to empty the large house (my parents were mega-hoarders), and also we had to dodge around the Covid lockdowns, and it has taken me more than a year to finally settle into my new home. I did virtually no writing for a time, as the writing urge had simply left me. However, I am now pleased to say that my health (although still not perfect) has improved greatly, and I eventually re-discovered my love of writing. So….I am back! I have kept my Wix website going, so you are welcome to browse there if you wish. (www.racheldevineauthor.com)

Having said all that, I would like to introduce you to my recently published book (title and picture above.) It is the long-awaited third part of a series, NOTHING TO REGRET, and SABINE, although it can be read as a standalone.

She searches for herself; but at what cost?

Séraphine is born in 1960, the only daughter of wealthy parents, Alexis and Sabine Rousseau, in the South of France. She is an art student at the Sorbonne in Paris, at a time when Europe has rebuilt after the Second World War, and life is good for many.  She believes her life is perfect. What can possibly come along to create doubts about who she really is? But life has a way of sneaking up and interrupting a peaceful and privileged existence, when least expected. She receives life-changing news that throws her mind into chaos, and nothing will ever be the same again.

Louis was born in Paris in 1956, the illegitimate son of Beatrice and Charles (English, but living in France.) His father, Charles, is dead, and he is brought up by Beatrice’s husband, Henri, in Paris. He is aware of his background–having been told at a young age–and accepted it completely. He has known Séraphine her entire life, but, meeting after a 5-year gap, he finds his interest in her has become something much more powerful; but will it survive the upheaval that Seraphine’s news causes?

Secrets kept can come back and bite you—as Séraphine finds to her great cost. Will they cost the budding relationship between her and Louis? How many other people end up paying the price too?

The heart leads us to some unexpected places

https://books2read.com/u/4j5vpD. Universal Link

A powerful and heart-rending love story from the author, Rachel de Vine, that takes you from Paris to Moscow, London to New York, without you even leaving your chair. But it is so much more than a love story. It is the culmination and consequence of events started many years earlier, that the two main characters are destined to live through…and, hopefully, survive.

Excerpt 1

The restaurant was dark and intimate, with a pianist and a small dance floor. As soon as we finished eating, I was desperate to put my hands on Séraphine’s warm, inviting bare skin.

“Come. Let’s dance.”

I took her hand and led her to a dark spot to the side of the piano. The pianist was playing a soft, jazz number and as we merged together, I put my hand in the small of her back. It felt warm and smooth, as I was sure the rest of her body would be, and I hoped I would get to feel the rest of it later that night. I desperately wanted to make love to Séraphine, but was understandably nervous. Would she feel the same way? Or was I just the childhood friend, whose company she enjoyed?

I suspected that she too was attracted to me in the way her hands roamed my body while we were dancing. I was wearing a short-sleeved shirt, and slacks, and Séraphine’s hands moved up and down my bare arms, and across the shirt on my back. Our bodies were close, and I wondered if she could feel the arousal beginning in my groin.

We danced until midnight, before stepping out into the clear, velvet night, with stars that competed with the bright lights of the town. Driving home in Alexis’ open-topped sports car, I felt comfortable after a great night out, but with tingles in my body that the night would not yet be over.

As we stepped from the car, back at the house, Séraphine moved close to me, put her arms around my neck, and planted her soft lips on mine. The message she gave me was clear and unambiguous. But I wondered about her parents.

She took my hand and led me into the house, where the hallway light had been left on for us. Her parents had clearly retired for the night. Instead of heading for the main staircase, leading to my room, she took me along another corridor, and towards a smaller, less grand staircase. As we began climbing the stairs, I whispered to her.

“Won’t your parents…”

But she didn’t give me the chance to complete my sentence. She put her finger over my mouth.

“It’s okay. My room isn’t close to Mama and Papa’s—and besides, they are very tolerant. They know I’m sexually active, and rely on my good judgement. They wouldn’t allow anyone into the house whom they wouldn’t trust; and you’ve passed their approval by a long way. After all, they’ve known you longer than they have known me.”

I smiled. It was true.

Excerpt 2

“My friend, Olga, will be around in less than an hour, with some clothes for you. Why don’t you go to the bathroom and take a bath. It may not be a luxury bathroom, but will be considerably better than what you’ve become used to lately. There’s soap and shampoo on the shelf you can use. I’ll ask Olga to supply you with more feminine items I’m sure you’ll prefer. Although, don’t expect the types of products you’re used to in Paris.”

That was the first time he had indicated he might have been out of the country. But then, with his French being so good, it wouldn’t have been surprising if he had lived there for a while. I must ask him sometime. I headed for the bathroom, and he called after me.

“There’s a clean robe on the back of the door to save your blushes. I will consign your prison outfit to the rubbish bin.”

For a moment, a cheeky part of me wondered what he would do or say if I wandered back from the bathroom naked. But maybe now wasn’t the right time.

I had enjoyed a good long soak in the hot water, when he tapped on the door.

“Can I come in?”

“Of course. It’s your bathroom.”

He opened the door and paused for just a second. I made no attempt to cover myself. The time for pretence was nearly over. He walked to the bath, and sat on the roll-top, facing me.

“I just came to remind you that Olga will be coming shortly; although, seeing you now, I rather wish she would be late, to give us more time. But I’ll restrain myself for now.”

He smiled at me, and ran the back of his finger along my arm, causing me instant goosebumps, which he noticed immediately. He simply looked at me, with a sexy smile that promised much, before rising and leaving the bathroom. 

I rose from the bath; towel-dried my hair and dried my body, before putting on the robe and walking out to the drawing room. He was sitting in an armchair, reading the paper, and sipping from a glass of what looked like whisky. I sat in the opposite armchair and leaned back; not caring much that the robe gaped open slightly; although I was still fairly decent.

“Are you testing me?” 

His voice was deeper than usual, and he was undoubtedly aroused. I rather wished that Olga wasn’t coming tonight. I could wait for the clothes, but I wasn’t sure I could wait for whatever else might be on offer. I uncrossed my legs and pulled the robe close.

“I’m sorry.”

“Never apologise for being tantalisingly sexy. That’s what I like about you. One minute you have the appearance of a pretty, but innocent girl; and the next, you become a sex siren. That’s a very interesting combination, and one I particularly enjoy. But, as with a great banquet, I prefer to take my time in enjoying all that the feast has to offer. And talking about food, I’m hungry for that too. As soon as Olga has left, we can get something to eat. The housekeeper has left supplies in the fridge for us. I don’t often cook, but I’ll enjoy cooking a meal for you.”

Families aren’t always what they seem

Leave a comment